Chincoteague Island’s Captain Timothy Hill House, built circa 1800, was abandoned in 1954, its past forgotten, and was almost torn down – but happy fate intervened. Come discover the oldest house on Chincoteague Island – The Captain Timothy Hill House!
The Captain Timothy Hill House was long thought to be just an old eyesore. The dilapidated, one room structure sat on Chincoteague’s historic Main Street beneath vines and a facade of rotting weatherboard.
A local couple decided the old building, properly cleaned up and moved once again, would make a good bicycle shed. Little did they realize what they were getting into.
Closer inspection revealed dovetailed log plank construction and other interior details that aroused suspicion. Most curious were the depictions of early sailing ships carved into its exterior walls. Could this old shack have greater significance?
Read the rest of this page »